Home Handel Research Prize

Handel Research Prize

The concept of the Handel Research Prize

The George Frideric Handel Society, located in Handel’s birthplace of Halle (Saale), has been awarding the International Handel Research Prize since 2014. The prize is valued at 2000 €, and it is sponsored by the Foundation of the Saalesparkasse. The call for proposals is addressed to graduates of musicology or related disciplines, who have accomplished outstanding research on the life and work of George Frideric Handel.

The concept of the prize is to motivate young scholars to undertake research on Handel, to support them in their research projects, and to secure due notice of their research projects by Handel experts. The prize is awarded at the international scholarly conference of the Handel Festival, where the prize winner is also asked to present a paper. In addition to promoting young scholars, the International Handel Research Prize accentuates the cultural and historical importance of the city of Halle and its place as a center for science and research.

The prize has been rewarded every two years since 2015. See the call for proposals for application details.

The jury during the award ceremony in the Handel House, 10th June 2014. F. l. t. r.: Thomas Neumann, Jan-Hinrich Suhr, Prof. Dr. Silke Leopold, Prof. Dr. Donald Burrows, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Hirschman

The jury

Prof. em. Dr. Donald Burrows, Cranfield (GB), chair or the Handel Institute London member of the Editorial Board of the Handel Edition

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Hirschmann, Halle, Institut für Musik, Medien- und Sprechwissenschaften, Abt. Musikwissenschaft, der Martin-Luther Universität Halle-Wittenberg and president of the Handel Society.

Prof. em. Dr. Silke Leopold, Heidelberg

Thomas Neumann, Magdeburg, Ministery of economics, science and digitalisation of Saxony-Anhalt

Jan-Hinrich Suhr, Halle, Vorstandsstab der Stiftung der Saalesparkasse

Current call for proposals

Link to the call for proposals for the Handel Research Price 2023.


2021: Teresa Ramer-Wünsche, Halle (Saale)

2019: Dr. Natassa Varka, Cambridge

2017: Dr. Susanne Spiegler, Leipzig

2015: Dr. Regina Compton (USA)

Dr. Dominik Höink (Germany), Prof. Dr. Rebekka Sandmeier (South Africa) and students from Germany and South Africa

Dr. Matthew Gardner, Heidelberg

Logo der Saalesparkasse

The Research Price is sponsored by Foundation of the Saalesparkasse.